The cat is more focused than I am

Image

It’s raining today in the Great Pacific Northwest. Nothing unusual about that. It is the good, soft, kind of rain, which inspires me to actually write, to exercise some discipline, to bend my mind and hand to my current WIP instead of finishing the book on my kindle.

Almost.

In a kind of half compromise I leave the kindle right where I can see it, to the left of my lap top. This way I can read in little short bursts that don’t actually count as wasting my morning.

Excuse me for a moment.

Further, there is the issue of email. Or the Internet in general. The Internet is a wicked, wicked invention. No sooner do I (put aside my Kindle and actually turn it off) than an idea pops in my head, or a question like ‘what were popular boys names in the 1920’s?’ than I’m off to check out census data. Which leads to the meanings of names.

This reminds me of the older gentleman I sat next to yesterday at the diner who (quite rudely) asked me my name of course I answered, because I am polite, and I was treated to a short lecture on the meaning of Emily. Which, apparently, is revenge.  My name is not Emily. I need to check if that is really true…I am sure babynames.com or namefinder can help me out.

Still. Not. Working.

I need to make a note of the diner-guy because he would fit really well as a side character in my current work which, unusually for me, is actually set in the PNW in this day and age.

Still… not… working.

Meanwhile, Frankie the 18 pound feline, has spent the last 15 minutes searching out the perfect nap spot for a rainy day such as this.  He checked out the dining room table. No. Couch. No. Paper grocery bag (don’t tell anyone, but I do recycle them). No.

Hang on I have to see what is happening on my Kindle.

It’s addicting. I cannot leave a story unfinished.  It seems to me that the characters are in stasis, frozen yet impatient for the conclusion of their story if I am not there to read on, I cannot allow that to happen.

The Cat has finished his perusal of all the nooks and crannies in the house, pulled another storage box out of my handy Ikea organizer, disregarded it as insufficient for his bulk and gone to sleep on my daughter’s bed.

I’m still struggling with my focus while my kindle just flashed a ‘low power’ warning!  I only have 32% left before the conclusion. Quick dig out charger and then free up space on the surge protector by unplugging my lap top.

Seriously.

I jest (somewhat), it is not really this hard for me to focus but it is something I struggle with on a daily basis. Like many writers I struggle to fit my schedule within other’s. A star-shaped peg in a triangular-shaped hole. Creative liscence, eh?  Two children, a dog, a house to manage. Other annoying stuff like regular exercise and trips to the dentist disrupt the even flow of my day. It often feels as if I am being thwarted at every turn; no matter what kind of time I set aside, or plan for, there is always something to keep me from my goal(s).

Clearly it is most usually my own self.

So, the point? Lets see if I can keep myself from being distracted here…

My second half of the year amendment is to blog twice a week and write an average of an hour a day. This is probably a low estimate of time but if I set something I can meet…..then I can be successful–right?

Here’s to Success.

About elisethroughthelookingglass

A currently unemployed stay at home mom with the long time dream of writing my own novel. Not the 'Great American Novel', just a fun read. Since I am now the parent of teenagers I have been relegated to the back burner and am tired of waiting for my favorite authors to get their books out. Wish me luck on my trip through the looking glass.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

