Super Powers, again? Can we have some quality control please???

This is a question that often comes up around the dining room table. Not that we are geeky or anything.

I never change mine. Invisibility is always my choice. Just seems so handy, and versatile too.

My younger daughter changes her’s everytime. Last time it was x-ray vision. Today, teleportation. I think it has more to do with day-to-day situations and how much her sister is aggravating her at the time than conscious consideration of what would suit her the best.

The older one is a crafty teenager learning to bend the rules. She chose to have the ‘Power to copy and keep everyone else’s super powers so she could use them all’. Cheating. Even though I said ‘just ONE super power”. Yes, there were even capitals in my speaking voice.

When I write (or am working on a story line) and read, I have discovered that I am not that fond of super powers. Or any overly special power given to characters by other authors. My characters tend to be (fairly) realistic, thus needing to rely on their own selves to get out of sticky situations.  I have fallen out of love with vampires, mind readers, shape changers, humans that breed with wolves (or something else squicky) to become powerful, witches (except for Esme Weatherwax), especially when set in the (mostly) modern world. Lincoln, vampire hunter? There is a movie I will never see. It just bugs me.

Before you protest, yes many of these characters grow and change with their new found powers, maybe even become better members of society/clan. I loved the early Anita Blakes. Or, the characters hate their new powers and want to hide them. It is not always a cake walk, or even a shuffle.

BUT!!!

Readers are drowning in this stuff!  Have you been to your local bookstore or checked out the new e-book releases lately? Blood sucking, shape changing, immortal (but unhappy about it) etc., the list is really long and sadly a great deal of it is very poorly written. A vehicle for crazy monkey sex or horror. Or both. Not even worth 0.99.

Well written crazy monkey sex, romantic suspense, even horror is something I have on auto buy–ie authors I trust to put out (haha) something readable, that I think about beyond the last page. If it is part of the story, yippee. There are authors who still manage to pull it off. Too often though I feel that the writer is frantically click, click, clicking to get to the next hot sex scene between forbidden lovers. Boring. Very little thought given to plot or character development.

With the on-slaught of e-books, because that is what it feels like to me as a reader, there is an incredible amount of choice for us now.  But I personally rely on my old standbys or recommendations/reviews (a topic for later) before I invest in a new author. As a writer this scares me because our works will become part of an ever growing pool–how will readers find us??

My point is that writers, myself included, need to  slow down a minute, take a breath and really love their work, not just try to get published using what is the soup d’jour. Please, I am begging, stop with the vampires, zombies, werewolves, teen witches….or at least spring for an editor, have others critique your work (and not your best friend either).

We don’t all want to be invisible.

 

 

About elisethroughthelookingglass

A currently unemployed stay at home mom with the long time dream of writing my own novel. Not the 'Great American Novel', just a fun read. Since I am now the parent of teenagers I have been relegated to the back burner and am tired of waiting for my favorite authors to get their books out. Wish me luck on my trip through the looking glass.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

