What the heck? Reading, Writing and too much thinking.

‘Why not just post something?’, I say to myself–at least that way I won’t spend the rest of the day feeling guilty about taking up cyberspace. HA.

The whole idea of this blog was to encourage myself to write. To learn about writing and to solicit advice from other writers who are so bored (or task avoiding) they are trolling the web and randomly find this site.

I can safely say that so far the blog has only made me feel guilty about not writing. I’m working on that though. Maybe it is one of those Protestant guilt trip things from my childhood that I need to work through in order to move forward?

I have managed to (break a rule of mine about not starting too many paragraphs with ‘I’)  read quite a bit about writing as well as read fiction in the past year. While also trying to put my finger on what I like or don’t like about an individual author’s work.  What makes the reading experience enjoyable for me personally? Because, right there, that is what I  want to be able to do too.

There is so much out there to read these days. I don’t think I am imagining that e-publishing has had both a positive and negative impack on the fiction experience. No research here, this is just my gut thinking (can a gut think?). On the one hand there is a lot more to read. On the other alot more *crap* out there. Is it lack of qualified editors/agents or just a over-eagerness to find and publish the ‘next big thing’? Honestly, I am suprised people are willing to put their names on some of this stuff. I am not talking content here I am talking basic writing and plotting.

Which brings me back to thinking about writing while I am reading. Raymond Carver in the room? I know many authors don’t read while they are working on a piece. I am unable to not read. My favorite authors (you all live on the shelf next to my bed so I can obsessively re-read) evoke honest emotion, suprise me and (regardless of genre) make me look deeper into myself. I want that too and I am hoping that as I read and write I am able to find my own cadence–and maybe someone else will enjoy it.

But that begs the question: who is the story for? The author or the audience?

Thoughts?

About elisethroughthelookingglass

A currently unemployed stay at home mom with the long time dream of writing my own novel. Not the 'Great American Novel', just a fun read. Since I am now the parent of teenagers I have been relegated to the back burner and am tired of waiting for my favorite authors to get their books out. Wish me luck on my trip through the looking glass.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

