Just tiny little nubs left

Versailles, Champs de Elysees, Arc de Triomphe, Tuileries Jardin, the Louvre (again) and a quick peek at Mr. Sarkozy as he left the Pantheon. Yep–a bad case of tired feet, I am sore up to my knees. What a gorgeous day we had, the temp was around 71 and now Esme and I are the ones with pink noses. 

Again the Paris Pass was wonderful, I just can’t say enough what a great deal it is.  I would never have gone to the Louvre twice, never have gone up the Arc–the entry prices for adults are just so outrageous.  But, since I have already paid for it I am not so worried.  I calculated and today it paid for itself, which means tomorrow, our last day here, will be a free one.  Yippee!

Everything we saw was amazing but the highlight for me was Tuileries.  We sat, rested our poor feet, had overpriced, drinks and people watched.  Parisians clearly love and use this park. I stopped counting how many people young and old I saw with color pencils and a sketch book.  Lots of grandparents with their young grandchildren, kids playing ‘soccer’, old men arguing about something that probably happened 30 years ago :). 

On the ‘what the heck?’ side of things.  I cannot believe how many young French people smoke. Seriously.  I realize that I live in the bastion of anti-smoking on the West Coast, and I know from experience that many many people around the world still smoke but somehow I thought that young people here would be smarter than to fall into the ‘cool’ of cigarettes.  Sigh. Must be the Mom in me rearing its ugly head, if I spoke decent french I would have given them all a lecture and further embarrassed Esme.  I’m lucky she lets me speak at all. 

Tomorrow is our last day here — we haven’t decided what to do but if the weather holds I’m angling for a boat ride on the Seine.  Keep your fingers crossed for me!!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About elisethroughthelookingglass

A currently unemployed stay at home mom with the long time dream of writing my own novel. Not the 'Great American Novel', just a fun read. Since I am now the parent of teenagers I have been relegated to the back burner and am tired of waiting for my favorite authors to get their books out. Wish me luck on my trip through the looking glass.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

