Count down to Japan: still planning on going

A much darker Tokyo

As I write this my  husband and daughter are still planning on heading to Japan next Thursday.  Since 3/11 we have been glued to the TV and internet trying to sort through the news and mis-information that has been thrown at us.  My first, motherly, inclination was to cancel the tickets and plan for another time.  But after 2 weeks of gathering information we have little real information about what the tourist situation is like right now but feel it is safe to go.  Perhaps not the choice everyone would make.

I have plowed through travel blogs on bootsnall, tripadvisor and lonelyplanet.  All potential travelers are asking the same questions as we are, there is no one saying what the situation is really. This leads to the question; does anyone know of someone blogging about being there right now?  I would like them to go with as much information as possible, if you know of someone I love to have a link. 

Currently there is a water scare in Tokyo; apparently tap water has been contaminated and isn’t safe for infants. This has led to a run on bottled water and I know other food items are in short supply.  I imagine that these things will sort themselves out as the country moves out of panic mode and into rebuilding mode and I don’t think my husband and daughter are going to be the straw that breaks the camel’s back so to speak.  Admittedly I have suggested they travel with a box of protein bars and their own top-ramen, for one thing it is easy to carry and for another they would be prepared if something does happen.

For your own (and my) amusement I have included a link to ‘The Daily Show’ , John Stewart (I really do love him) has manged to sum the whole thing up.  Nancy Grace has no business being in the news business….

http://www.thedailyshow.com/watch/wed-march-23-2011/when-reporters-attack?xrs=share_copy

As far as my personal writing?  Not a whole lot on that front this past week.  I think I am at a point where I just need to keep going but I find myself looking back instead, why is that?

That’s it for today!!

About elisethroughthelookingglass

A currently unemployed stay at home mom with the long time dream of writing my own novel. Not the 'Great American Novel', just a fun read. Since I am now the parent of teenagers I have been relegated to the back burner and am tired of waiting for my favorite authors to get their books out. Wish me luck on my trip through the looking glass.
This entry was posted in Travel, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

