Getting Lost in My Work

I love this concept. As the mother of 2 daughters this doesn’t actually happen very often.  Yesterday I discovered the power of earplugs and music turned up on my laptop.  This worked really well until my husband politely knocked on the door first and then came in my office–scaring me half to death because I hadn’t heard him. My train of thought was gone, out of the station, totally lost. 

The solution of course is to write in the morning when my family is out of the house.  This is something I struggle with. I am new to the concept of working from home and consequently I am finding it difficult to carve out a writing schedule that meshes well with my ‘household dictator’ schedule. Ha, ha.

Two things that have been helping my focus are 1) writing this blog!  I find myself thinking throughout the evening before what I might like or need to talk about the next morning. Which leads to quick jotting down of ideas for my story–this reminds me that there is a piece of paper somewhere in the living room that is very important.  2) I love plinky! http://www.plinky.com/  even if I don’t use the prompt it always get me thinking!

A third thing that comes to mind is reading other blogs and reader/author book discussions. I read a really interesting discussion between Tad Williams and Christopher Paolino http://www.amazon.com/gp/feature.html/ref=amb_link_354664142_7?ie=UTF8&docId=1000637861&pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_s=center-7&pf_rd_r=1J6E91ATEV3RDC89SP7G&pf_rd_t=4401&pf_rd_p=1282226862&pf_rd_i=B001IGLLNK  just yesterday. 

Of course none of this is writing my own work, only leading up to it. 

So, there you have it–I am still not certain how the actually ‘get lost in my work’  but I feel I am at least closer and am going to try the earplug thing again but maybe this time I’ll post a sign on my door too.

About elisethroughthelookingglass

A currently unemployed stay at home mom with the long time dream of writing my own novel. Not the 'Great American Novel', just a fun read. Since I am now the parent of teenagers I have been relegated to the back burner and am tired of waiting for my favorite authors to get their books out. Wish me luck on my trip through the looking glass.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

