Now that I’ve offended everyone…

which, honestly wasn’t my intention.

I was hoping to get a little discussion started about what’s ‘hot what’s not’ in the fiction world right now. And, okay, maybe vent a little about what I see as laziness in plotting and character developement these days. NOT just in the genre’s I mentioned. For some reason those bug me the most though. Is it because its easier for an author to rely on the unusual characteristics to keep the plot moving forward? Not really sure.

I will even admit to still enjoying shape changing, vampire, were-books (as long as they are well written/plotted). My current must buy is Thea Harrison’s Elder Race series. If you are interested in a review check out http://dearauthor.com/book-reviews/overall-a-reviews/a-minus-reviews/review-storms-heart-by-thea-harrison  

To the point: what are editors and authors filling their late year publication slots for 2012 with?

I am not an editor or anything even near so I can only guess; but I think there will be more para-stuff, were-stuff and vamp-stuff before the trend is burned out. Suzanne Brockmann http://www.suzannebrockmann.com/ is starting a new para series I am very excited to begin reading. I also have seen contests/submissions asking for post-apocalypse (has anyone read or begun: the ‘Dark Age Dawning’ series by EllenConnor?–interested but was burned on my last buy in this catagory), erotic romance, urban fantasy, m/m, steampunk. This short list I haved culled from surfing around the net and seeing what publishing houses like Samhain, Carina, LooseID have calls out for.

Dang, unless the publishing world changes it is hard to predict if my sci-fi romance will get picked up. Of course I need to finish it, quit avoiding a particular scene–get moving again– instead of being on WS hangin’ with my blog.

My question is: what do other writers/readers see out there? Any cool ideas you have come across? No…of course not your own..:))

How much do you think current events and social temperature (bad economy, environmental disaster for example) guides what kind of story the reading public wants to spend their leisure time with???

Anyone??

Cheers,

Elise

 

 

About elisethroughthelookingglass

A currently unemployed stay at home mom with the long time dream of writing my own novel. Not the 'Great American Novel', just a fun read. Since I am now the parent of teenagers I have been relegated to the back burner and am tired of waiting for my favorite authors to get their books out. Wish me luck on my trip through the looking glass.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

